From the Mind of Mesilla

Mommy, Mate, Me!

What I Feed My Kid February 4, 2011

Filed under: Books,Little Man — mesillam @ 4:25 pm

So, yeah, it’s been forever since I posted, but I had some technical difficulties that were frustrating me with my blog, so that kind of turned me off for a few weeks from even looking at my blog.  To update you on my last post, though, I did finish Seeing Through the Lies by Vonda Skelton at 11:45 pm on January 31st, so I made my goal for January!  It was really good.  The chapter about fear was especially helpful for me and I may go into more detail later, but that is not what this blog post is really about.

Kelly from Kelly’s Korner does “Show Us Your Life” posts every Friday with a new topic each week.  This week is about what you feed your kids.  She has a two year old and was looking for suggestions for her, but since I’m not there, yet, I’m just going to post about what Little Man eats.

We started him on solids at about five and a half months.  We were going to wait until six months, but he was showing the signs of being ready, so we went ahead and started slowly.  We still usually only feed him one meal (occasionally two) meals of solids a day. The foods we have tried so far are bananas, avocado, steel cut oats, sweet potatoes, pears, apples, peas and kiwi (because they were on sale a couple weeks ago!).  He has liked everything so far, although, he will only eat the oatmeal if we mix it with something sweet, usually bananas, but sometimes sweet potatoes if that is what I have.  I have made all his food so far.  No jars for this little guy!  It is really easy and much cheaper, but most of all, I know exactly what I am feeding him.  I have been stockpiling since a few months before he started solids.  I just freeze the purees in ice cube trays and then put the blocks in freezer bags.  That way I can just pull out a couple and thaw them as needed.  The bananas and avocado were really simple, just mash and freeze.  The kiwi were a little tougher because I tried to get out all of the seeds, but I probably didn’t have to do that since they are really tiny seeds.  The sweet potatoes, peas, pears and apples had to be cooked first, but then they mashed up really easily, too.  I have a small food processor that works really well for pureeing his food.  I am going to do more green veggies soon, but I haven’t decided which ones, yet.  We wait at least four days after starting a new food to start another new food so we will know what he is allergic to if he has a reaction to something.  So far, we haven’t had any problems, though!

Little Man’s main source of nutrition is breast milk.  He still nurses just as much now as before we started him on solids.  I knew before I was even pregnant that I wanted to nurse.  As I started to read more during my pregnancy, I became even more educated about all the benefits of nursing, for both the baby and mommy.  Breast milk is by far the most nutritious food for your baby.  Even when I planned on working part-time, I was going to pump.  I still do pump a few times a week so that Hubby and I can have date nights.  There will be no formula for my Little Man.  Besides breast milk being best, there are too many risks with formula that I was just not willing to take and health problems that develop later in life that scientists are now linking with being formula fed as a baby.  Here are some interesting facts.

  • “Babies who do not receive breastmilk do not receive protection from illnesses provided by the mother’s antibodies and other components that come in her milk. These babies are more likely to get diarrhoea and respiratory and ear infections. Diarrhoea and respiratory infections, such as pneumonia, can be deadly in babies and young children.” (Facts for Life)
  • “It reduces risks of breast and ovarian cancer later in life, helps women return to their pre-pregnancy weight faster, and lowers rates of obesity.” (WHO)
  • “Adults who were breastfed as babies often have lower blood pressure and lower cholesterol, as well as lower rates of overweight, obesity and type-2 diabetes. There is evidence that people who were breastfed perform better in intelligence tests.” (WHO)

Here is a link to even more great benefits! Nature’s Brilliant Plan: Some Lesser-Known Facts About Breastfeeding

I love nursing!  It is three to four (more when he was younger) hours a day (and night!) that I can just relax and cuddle with my sweet little guy.  I can read, watch TV or just stare at his cute little face!  It also calms and relaxes him immediately if he is fussy.  We both love that oxytocin!  Plus, it is way easier to nurse than having to sterilize and mix and warm bottles, especially at night or when traveling.  I am already dreading the day that he weans.  That alone makes me want to have another baby!  Honestly, it was hard at first.  It was painful and it took both of us about a month to learn how to do it right.  But ever since then, it has been incredible and one of the joys of having a baby.

 

One Response to “What I Feed My Kid”

  1. suddenlymom Says:

    I am glad you were so open about nursing! It is the way we were made to feed our babies! Just stopping by from Kelly’s Korner. Have a great day!


Leave a Reply

