From the Mind of Mesilla

Mommy, Mate, Me!

Day 5 October 4, 2010

Filed under: FlyLady — mesillam @ 11:07 pm

Day five’s challenge was a little bit different than the others.   FlyLady wants you to turn the negative voices in your head into positive statements.  Instead of feeling bad for not having the perfect, ready for a magazine photo shoot home, you should do a little bit at a time to organize and keep up your home and give yourself the freedom to not be a perfectionist.  While she gives you daily routines and lists of things to do, if you don’t get it all done, you can just try again tomorrow.  I needed to hear that.  I am definitely a perfectionist.  I am also pretty lazy, which is why I have to have someone like FlyLady give me challenges so I will do the things I should do anyway.  But once I start cleaning and organizing, I want it absolutely perfect.  This day’s assignment was a good reminder for me that a home is to be lived in.  It is never going to be perfect.  I can keep it neat and tidy, but a couple things out of place or a few shelves that need dusting, don’t make me a bad housekeeper.  That means I am spending more time with Little Man and Hubby and that’s what’s most important.

 

Leave a Reply

